By Your Command

The first mailing list I ever joined on the Internet was about Battlestar Galactica. And it was in 1995. Maybe 1996.

This will surprise many people who know me. Because my t-shirt collection is 99% Star Wars.

And I do love Star Wars. Not as much as I used to. But I realize that Star Wars was created for kids (mostly boys) 6-12. And the farther I get away from being 12, the less appeal it has to me.

Note if you hate the latest movies but loved Star Wars growing up - view it through the prism of your 12 year old self. This is why I think Solo is a good movie. It's not a good adult movie.

But it's a fun enjoyable movie for a 12 year old boy.

Meanwhile, back to Battlestar.

You see in 1995, Galactica had not yet been rebooted. And looked like it would never be rebooted. But there was a collection of hard-core fans who loved that original TV show.

Thanks to the fact that Glen Larson had managed to get it (and Buck Rogers and a show I hated "Alias Smith and Jones") into syndication re-runs for years.

Between the ages of 7-12 or so, I knew it was summer when channel 39 out of Dallas started broadcasting Battlestar on Sunday evenings.

And we were left hanging about what had happened to that ragtag group of survivors being chased by the Cylons.

And this led to the reboot on SciFi. Which was a great show until the final hour of the series. I tell people who want to start watching it now - watch until the first part of the series finale. Just don't watch the final hour. You don't need it to complete the story.

And the series finale ruins the show.

I'm sure some of you liked it.

So whether you loved the series finale or are just starting your binge watching, make sure you're wearing one of our shirts:

https://www.brickboss.co/store/