Electric Scooters Will Be The End of Civilization

In the summer of 2018 there is a belief that electric scooters will be the solution to our travel problems.

I first heard about them because I follow the venture capitalist who invested in one of the firms. Of course he is located in Santa Monica, California.

Where I could see scooters being a fun way to get around tourist areas. The weather is always nice. And you have the beach. Plus it's California. Of course they think scooters are a way to revolutionize travel.

When I was 12 my friend Matt had a scooter. And while Waco is mostly flat. His street was on an incline. So we did what every 12 year old 1980s kids did.

We rode that scooter down the street on the incline. And tried to see how fast we could go.

And I wiped out. Hard. How I didn't break anything, is still surprising. I don't think I've shared this story to even my mom before.

But if you think that is crazy - my father in law tops me (Pappa Freddie).

He used to ride bulls on the ranch for fun. Not in competition. Not with a helmet or kevlar vests like they do now. Just hopped on the bull in the pen and rode. Because they were bored.

Fast forward to 2018. I watched on the news last night. And there was a story about the scooters in Austin. And the increasing number of accidents.

I was expecting how people were getting seriously hurt. People ride them crazy. They’re going fast on sidewalks with pedestrians. They’re on roads with cars!

Instead I got a guy talking about how he scratched his ear once. And it made him say "ouch" when he put on his shirt.

Speaking of shirts you should check out the ones I designed at:
https://www.brickboss.co/store/