My Eulogy To Burt Reynolds

Burt Reynolds died yesterday.

My dad likes to tell a story of how Burt Reynolds and Clint Eastwood were friends and roommates. They went to visit a talent agent. The agent said neither of them would ever find work in Hollywood. Burt couldn't act. Clint had talent but his Adam's Apple was too big.

They walked out. Burt looked at Clint and said he felt sorry for Clint after that meeting. Clint looked at him and asked "Why?". "I can learn how to act. There's nothing you can do about that Adam's Apple."

Don't know if that story is true or not but it should be.

I hadn't thought about Burt in a long time. He was old (82) and it had decades since I saw him in a movie. The last one that I could think of is Boogie Nights.

I know he did a movie a year or two ago that apparently poked fun of his career.

But during my young years, he was my #1 tough guy actor. The best comparison I can make for the younglings who might be reading this is Bruce Willis.

He was the Bruce Willis of the 1970s and early 80s.

The epitome of this was the flick "Smokey and the Bandit".

For my generation, freedom meant driving a fast car (Trans-Am with a t-top), picking up runaway brides and outrunning the law.

I just remembered KITT from Knight Rider was supposed to be a Trans-Am too. Burt in his normal car was still cooler.

And I also enjoyed watching Burt in reruns of his first steady work - Gunsmoke.

Thanks Burt for the memories.

https://www.brickboss.co/store/