The Whiteboard Artist

As a computer professional, I have long struggled to explain what I do for a living to my wife & my mom.

Heck to be candid it's often been hard to explain my jobs to my geek friends. Becuase I've always had a unicorn role.

Meaning that my job was one of a kind. I have a variety of skills - programmer, system administrator, sales, marketing and presenting that makes it too hard to keep me in one slot.

It also kept me from getting bored.

But yesterday I had to book another business trip. It's not one that I'm looking forward to. It's on a Friday in a small city. If I miss my 5pm flight, it will mean I won't get home until Saturday.

I'm not here to whine. I'm here to be silly.

Because I realized that I was going on this business trip to be an artist. I had dreamed for a while of being an artist even though my drawing skills are limited.

But combine my limited drawing skills with my geeky comp-sci problem solving brain and bingo you have a traveling artist.

Someone who gets paid to travel the country drawing boxes on whiteboards.

That's what I told me my mom that my job is. "I draw boxes on whiteboards for a living."

Meanwhile, I don't have any boxes on whiteboards for sale but I do have t-shirts and coffee mugs with funny phrases at:

https://www.brickboss.co/store/